Reading: As Meat Loves Salt

First, before I continue with today’s post: THANK YOU, MR. PRESIDENT!

 

Photobucket

It’s been seven years this summer since I read As Meat Loves Salt by Maria McCann, and I still find it very difficult to talk about. I would call it one of my favorite books of all time, and yet I can’t easily discuss it with anyone. My closest friends either love it or hate it…or hate to love it. I’ve been considering reading it again, but I remember the last time I read it (the first and only time), I was so breathless with it that I felt as though I’d lived a lifetime in the day or so that it took me to devour it. The characters haunted me to the point that I felt as though I walked around in their world for weeks on end after reading it. I couldn’t shake them. I couldn’t get them out of my heart or mind.

I still can’t listen to certain songs that were playing in my car during the time that this book occupied my life. For example, this song is always and forever associated with Jacob for me.

I recommend the book entirely. I can’t talk to you about it, though, not beyond this. Maybe if I do risk reading it again this summer I might make another entry in which I actually talk about it more. I guess, for now, I just want to say that this is an amazing, underrated, overlooked book. It’s the kind of book that I’m not sure I could ever get used to or stop feeling strongly about.

I’m rambling now. Buy the book. It’s worth it.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pete Armetta
    May 10, 2012 @ 06:46:23

    It must be terrific! Have to put it on the list. And YES, thank you Mr. President!

    Reply

  2. Nancy J. Silberstein
    May 10, 2012 @ 13:09:31

    I’m one of those people who didn’t like…didn’t finish…”As Meat Loves Salt.” I thought it well written, I found it true to the period, I thought it unremittingly grim – which was, of course, true to the grim Civil War period. njs

    Reply

    • Leta Blake
      May 10, 2012 @ 14:00:32

      Yes, people seem to either really love it or really not. I loved it, but several of my close friends hated it/couldn’t finish it. Then again, several other of my closest friends felt as I do about it. It’s not an easy book to love, maybe, but I sure loved it. :) Thanks for commenting, Nancy!

      Reply

  3. Gabriela
    May 25, 2012 @ 17:45:55

    I loved this book–so, so very much! I read it a couple of years ago, and not again since then…but oh, how it still haunts me. I love your blog–and greatly admire your writing–both prose and (!) fiction.

    Best wishes from Europe…

    Reply

    • Leta Blake
      May 28, 2012 @ 08:36:24

      It is such a haunting read. I agree. I’m happy that you liked it, too! As for the rest, aw, you are so kind. That makes me incredibly happy hear! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,753 other followers

