Photobucket

So, conventions. A lot of writers go to them and I’m considering attending a one or more this year.The main problem for me is a limited number of vacation days, especially since I’ve got health problems (migraines) that lead to way too many missed days in the office, and the guilt regarding rounding up childcare so that I can be away. I guess my question becomes, “Is it worth it?”

As a writer, what is the main reason for attending one of the conventions? The one at the top of my list right now is GayRomLit Retreat, which will be held in Atlanta this year. That’s a hop, skip and a jump from me. My husband says if there is a writing work-related benefit to attending and “if you can find a non-scary person to room with” (heh, watch him cut to the chase!) then I should attend and he’d help me arrange childcare.

If I am going to attend a convention (or three)–which ones are most recommended? What is the benefit? What is the best part? Have you seen a true difference in terms of your writing work come out of attending the conventions and, if so, can you explain that a little in the comments? I’d really love to have a better understanding of the conventions. I know they are supposed to be fun, but missing work and putting my entire family out for childcare so that I can have fun is emotionally hard for me. Especially when I already do that in order to find writing time to begin with.

So, experienced con attendees. Hit me up with your thoughts! Share your experiences! I’d really appreciate it! 🙂

6 thoughts on “To Con or Not to Con?

  1. Hi Leta, I was fortunate to have a friend, Debbie Macomber’s daughter, who told me when I finished my first book and didn’t know what to do with it, to go to the Emerald City conference. I learned so much and met incredible women that I’m still friends with. I say go, if you can…go!

    1. That’s awesome! I think I will go. I just need to convince my friend Skylar to go with me. She’s half-agreed. Wish me luck on that front and luck at the con, too! Here’s hoping I don’t go all shy and stuff. 🙂

  2. Leta, for my money, you can’t beat Ellora’s Cave’s Romanticon held in Canton, Ohio in October. Here’s the link: http://www.ecromanticon.com/all-events

    Not only are all the authors interested in erotic romance, but all the READERS are, too. And let’s not forget, we have a dozen hunky Cavemen all to ourselves as well. This is my one DO NOT MISS conference every year.

    1. Cris, I’ve been super tempted by that one, but I think I’m going to have to pass on it for this year due to issues with my childcare that particular week. But I’ll keep it in mind for sure in 2014! 🙂 Thank you!

  3. Leta, I went to GRL last year and it was AMAZING! Can’t recommend it highly enough for readers and authors of LGBT romance. Such a wonderful group of people who all share the same passion. I have been already counting the days until next year in Atlanta!

    1. Oh, you’ve got me excited about it now, Jay! 🙂 Thank you for the input. I think I’m going to attend. Now, if I can just get my friend, Skylar Cates, to agree to be my roommate, I’ll be all set. 🙂 Also, does this mean I’ll see you there? Would love to meet you!

Leave a Reply

