When I was in NYC, eating a cupcake with a friend in the West Village, I looked up to see a beautiful woman walking toward me talking on her cell phone. As I listened to my friend talk about the story she was writing about a man who was into the falcons that nest on some big tall bridge somewhere (um, the details escape me now, I’m sorry!) , I thought rather absently, “That girl looks a lot like Andrej Pejic.”

Then the realization set in.

Holy crap, it was Andrej Pejic!

Now, I have no idea how many people would recognize Andrej Pejic as he randomly sauntered with his boyfriend down a sidewalk in the West Village, but I froze mid-reply to my friend, and stared–probably rudely and open-mouthed–as he walked by, thinking, “Wow, he’s so beautiful. He’s the most beautiful girl I’ve seen today. No, the most beautiful girl I’ve seen since I got to NYC. And that’s saying something.”

He didn’t look too impressed with my gaping, which I should’ve really controlled, but I was in shock, people! And his boyfriend didn’t seem to care at all. He walked on by with this, “Yeah, this beautiful guy? He’s my guy. Yeah, that’s right,” swagger that was all “eat your heart out bitches, you’ll never be as gorgeous as him.”

And I won’t be.

And you probably won’t be either.

It’s just not going to happen.

But he’s nice enough to get his picture made a lot and to be a kinda famous model, so feel free to scroll through this Tumblr and or this tag get your fill of his prettiness. Between awesome cupcakes, an awesome friend, and an Andrej Pejic sighting? That was a successful day in NYC, my friends.

Oh, and, yes, though Andrej models women’s clothes and appears feminine in his day-to-day life, he prefers to be called a boy (because he is) and so I’m using the right pronoun to talk about him.

 

ETA: Okay, according to Anastasiya in the comments, this is a printscreen from Andrej’s ex (?)  boyfriend Remy Duran’s Tumblr. (By the way Andrej was with Remy when I saw him in June, and I assumed they were together, since they looked together, but what do I know? I was fame-adjacent on the street for like 10 seconds. Ha!) So, perhaps Andrej does prefer female pronouns? In future posts, I’ll try to just not use any pronouns, though, until I see a direct statement from Andrej.

 

Uh, did I already post about this here? I’m suddenly having the feeling of deja vu. Oh, well, can never have too much Andrej! Enjoy!

1. 

2. 

3. Pretty recent pics he put on Instagram.

Don’t forget! August 16th is the last day to comment to win for a free copy of Love’s Nest!

13 thoughts on “Andrej Pejic Is Way Prettier Than Me (And Probably You) #model #androgyny

  1. Nice article, thank you! Andrej indeed is a really beautiful person and a wonderful model. However you made a mistake stating Andrej identifies as a man, because she is transgender and identifies as a woman. It’s quite a known fact actually. This fact is stated at her official website. Otherwise – a sweet article and cute observations. Thank you!

    1. Hi, thanks, Anastasiya! I’m glad you enjoyed the little write up.

      While I’m super happy to call Andrej whatever pronoun Andrej most likes to be called, I went to Andrej’s official website and had a look around. I don’t see any official pronouncement of Andrej’s gender identity. There are the following quotes:

      1. Pejic was the first known transgender model to walk in a couture show.
      2. Pejic has even been given the title of having the most magazine covers of any male model to date.
      3. But to quote the 6 foot legged beauty “I’m just a silly Caucasian girl who likes to play with samurai swords”.

      The Home page of the site is devoid of gender identifiers aside from these quotes above.

      Regarding the first quote, transgender technically means that you identify as a gender other than your biological one. Given that Andrej has supported the Australian option of Gender X as an identifying factor–being inbetween genders–I’m not sure that using the word “transgender” means that he actively views himself as a woman. Especially given the multiple instances of him saying that he identifies as neither a woman or a man.

      Like in the following video: http://youtu.be/IRFNQsNEQKs

      Or this quote: “Pejic doesn’t plan on having sex reassignment surgery. Whether he identifies as male or female doesn’t seem to be the point: Gender is irrelevant.
      “I’ve left my gender open to artistic interpretation,” Pejic told New York Magazine. “It’s not like ‘Okay, today I want to look like a man, or today I want to look like a woman.’ I want to look like me.” (Read more: http://www.nydailynews.com/life-style/fashion/androgynous-model-covers-serbian-elle-article-1.1231968#ixzz2bwa7r5z5)

      Or this quote: “In this society, if a man is called a woman, that’s the biggest insult he could get.’ He (Andrej) arches his eyebrows skeptically and asks, ‘Is that because women are considered something less?’ Later, he tells me, ‘I know people want me to sort of defend myself, to sit here and be like, ‘I’m a boy, but I wear makeup sometimes.’ But, you know, to me, it doesn’t really matter. I don’t really have that sort of strong gender identity—I identify as what I am.”

      Regarding the 2nd quote from the official Website home page, that clearly says male. Regarding the 3rd quote, he refers to himself as a girl there, yes, but many trans* and/or gay men refer to themselves as girls.

      I absolutely have no dog in this fight, so to speak. I have no problem at all with using ‘she’ or ‘her’ if that is truly Andrej’s preference, but given that every article I’ve ever read uses the male pronoun, and he is in many interviews being referred to ‘he’ while standing there and there is no correction, and given that his official website doesn’t have any announcement of a preferred gender, and given that Google won’t cough up any statement from him saying that he is a woman, identifies as such, and wants to be called by female terms…well, I’m willing to call him what he wants. Which, as far as I can tell, is masculine pronouns.

      If I’ve missed something, an article or pronouncement, do let me know! 🙂

  2. You’ve made quite an investigation, Leta 🙂 Thanks for your opinion! Unfortunately I don’t have enough time to provide you my opinion with the same level of back-up. However from your sources let’s agree at least, that for the press Andrej personally has repeated several time, that she doesn’t really has a preferred pronoun. It means we can call her the way we want, so stating something like “Oh, and, yes, though Andrej models women’s clothes and appears feminine in his day-to-day life, he prefers to be called a boy” is quite misleading and wrong.

    1. Perhaps we can agree that this is a good example of why English would benefit from a gender neutral pronoun. 🙂

      Again, I’m happy to call Andrej whatever Andrej would like but I’m not going to make assumptions and all evidence that I’ve found, except for your comment, points to male pronouns. 🙂

      1. What do you think about such evidences as Andrej’s ex-boyfriend’s comments on the topic? 🙂 He calls her “girl” and states that’s her preference 🙂 By the way, they are still great friends even after break-up.

  3. Not long ago a fan asked Andrej what pronoun (s)he preferred and (s)he replied with “It’s whatever at this point.” I can’t find it on Andrej’s twitter so maybe (s)he prefers the female nowadays. But you’re right in saying that until Andrej gives an official statement it’s just best to go with both or none when referring to Andrej. Personally I think (s)he’s got more marketability (and is plain more interesting) remaining as “The Prettiest Boy in the World” but it’s his/her body and what Andrej wishes to do with Andrej’s body is up to Andrej.

    …totally agree on needing a pronoun for the third gender.

    Oh and according to the bit of research I’ve done: a transgender is usually someone who lives between genders and traditional male/female roles aren’t fully accurate to describe them. Transsexual is someone who is one gender and lives as/wishes to be the opposite gender as to what they’re born with. Since Andrej identifies as transgender rather than transsexual we can still be confused on if (s)he really prefers the female or wants to be female or doesn’t really care. Adding to that, who says Andrej can’t prefer the female but still want to live as both? Also I’m sure I read/saw somewhere where Andrej says (s)he’s comfortable in his/her body as is and isn’t wanting surgery. And although Andrej might prefer the “she”, it doesn’t mean Andrej is completely against the “he”, hence the whole, not correcting in front of the camera or in recent articles, etc.

    There’s too much “proof” of either preference (or lack of) and until (s)he comes right out and says it, well, we’ll have to wait.

    …/long comment…

  4. there’s a status from earlier this year. It was Andrej’s reply to someone who asked the gender pronoun preference. Maybe in Andrej’s personal life, Andrej prefers “she”. As far as we’re concerned, since we’re not in Andrej’s personal life, this doesnt apply to us because professionally it looks like Andrej has decided to have it be “whatever” 😛

    My 2 cents

Leave a Reply

