Taylor Swift is so hated by the feminist-ophere and, as a feminist, I really don’t get it. I’ve posted about this before but when I ran across a certain Anais Nin quote, I was reminded of how nasty feminist bloggers are about Taylor Swift.

For example, not too long ago, Swift was quoted as saying, “Relationships are the ultimate collaboration but It’s wonderful to hand over the reins to your boyfriend when you control so much of these big, high-pressure decisions, you know?”

Almost immediately feminist blogs started blasting her for this admission that, oh my goodness, at home, she likes her man to take control. I recalled the Jezebel article which calls Taylor Swift a feminist’s nightmare and this quote in particular:

For Taylor, fifteen means falling for a boy and dreaming of marrying him. My fifteen was more like: Flirt with this one, make out with that one, try a cigarette, get drunk, lie to your parents, read some Anais Nin, wish you lived in France, attempt to adopt Shakespearean euphemisms for sex into casual conversation (“beast with two backs” was very popular in my circle Freshman year), etc. 

Yes, that’s right. READ SOME ANAIS NIN. I somehow don’t think the author of that Jezebel article read this particular quote:

I do not want to be the leader. I refuse to be the leader. I want to live darkly and richly in my femaleness. I want a man lying over me, always over me. His will, his pleasure, his desire, his life, his work, his sexuality the touchstone, the command, my pivot. I don’t mind working, holding my ground intellectually, artistically; but as a woman, oh, God, as a woman I want to be dominated. I don’t mind being told to stand on my own feet, not to cling, be all that I am capable of doing, but I am going to be pursued, fucked, possessed by the will of a male at his time, his bidding.
– Anais Nin

I think that Jezebel should get right on shaming Anais Nin for that, dead though she may be. Because, clearly, Anais Nin is a feminist’s nightmare if that’s what she thought.

Also, for the record, my age fifteen looked a lot more like Taylor Swift’s version of fifteen, and you know what? That’s okay.

In other news, I wish that feminists would clue in to the idea that haranguing a young woman for her sexual choices, for being cisgendered, for being white isn’t really very feminist at all.

6 thoughts on “Anais Nin, Feminist’s Nightmare, too?

  1. My 15 didn’t have a lot to do with boys at all.

    People criticizing Taylor Swift annoy me. It reminds me that Joss Whedon said in an interview that he wanted to make Buffy blonde and petite and be called Buffy, because those girls can kick ass too.
    Taylor Swift runs her own empire of a brand. If I were her, it *would* be a relief to have a boyfriend who would make decisions about dinner or what movie to watch. Or even where to live. Having to make decisions is one of the suckier aspects of adulthood, and one of the perks of relationships is you get to split them between you. Not because one is a man and one is a woman, but because there are two of you.

  2. There doesn’t seem to be a lot of difference in denominations of zealotry. In the end, zealots of any denomination, be it Christianity, feminism, Islam, chauvinism or any other “ism”, are consumed by their own beliefs to the exclusion of contrary opinion.

  3. I definitely agree with you on this one. I mean I am a feminist, but some people will see a problem in EVERYTHING. I call it social-justicistis. You get too far into the issue and then you can’t distinguish between actually issues and non-issues anymore.
    Most feminists I know are very reasonable, kind people who looks at Jezebel with a VERY big grain of salt lol.

Leave a Reply

