A paper installation of Mt. Hood by Marisa Green and Peter Bogart. Click the photo to see more beautiful pictures of it, especially the lovely one of people standing underneath the floating mountain.

The above picture represents my mind right now. I’m in the midst of completing the final touches on this draft (and there’s sure to be another draft!) of Training Season, a m/m romance about a figure skater and a rancher. Yes, really. You did read that right.

As I push through to the end, adding the necessary pieces to make this mountain fly (see above), I find that other responsibilities in my life are falling through the cracks. Emails to friends, reading I’m supposed to do for a fellow author, careful review of my child’s homework (oops, I might suck), and even my 20 year High School Reunion. Yep, it’s true. I skipped it to work on this novel.

So this is me apologizing to you–whoever you are, all of you, any of you–because of how I’ve let you down. I know that I have in some way or another. Hopefully, before too long, I will be in a place where the novel is in my editor’s hands and I get some room to breathe. For my child’s sake, at least, I hope this is soon.

This song is also fairly representative of how I feel right now. Listen and enjoy!

You see, when I’ve touched the sky

The earth’s gravity has pulled me down

But now I’ve reconciled that in this world

Birds and angels get the wings to fly

If you can believe in this heart of mine

If you can give it a try

Then I’ll reach inside and find and give you

All the sweetness that I have

At this point in my life

–Tracy Chapman

Oh, heck, here is that pic I was talking about above, because it really is so lovely. The smile on her face, the glow of the lights, the floating paper mountain. Humanity. Only humans do these things.
Leave a Reply

