So, I had a bit of an epiphany yesterday. I do pretty well writing toward a goal date, but if there is too much time between me and the goal date, I waffle around and the characters laugh at me. I realized this because my current goal in terms of having ’90s Coming of Age Novel complete is to have the first part of it out by my birthday next September. But that’s a long time from now, guys! I mean, not really, because there is a ton of work to do on this book, but long enough that when I sit down to write, I find that I don’t feel the pressure of that deadline.

But, here’s the thing, I really need to be getting this book out of my way so that I can write some other books I’ve got planned. The Stalking Series needs completed. Then there are two related novellas/books that go in the Training Season universe that I really want to get to. There’s the heist novel, the other book I’m doing with Marie Sexton, the Smoky Mountain novel, the bakery book,  and so many more! Truth be told, I have to accept that I need to figure out the next three years and just stick to it as much as possible. The number one thing on that list, though, is getting ’90s Coming of Age out of my life.

I have a lot of fear wrapped up in that book, though. There’s a lot of time sunk into it and I fear that like a too-altered dress it will never fall just right. But there are so many reasons to plow on ahead with it. The fact that the characters would never forgive me if I didn’t and would likely haunt me on my death bed being the biggest one.

So, the point of this post is…I need goals! I need to set out goals for myself that are achievable with regards to this book. I’ve decided that Fridays are going to be spent working on ’90s COA until it’s done, and that every day that I write, I’m going to sit down with the goal of completing a certain number of scenes. Normally, I sit down with the goal of completing as much as I possibly can. For some reason, though, that leaves a lot of time for flailing about.

I believe that if I sit down and say, “I want to complete these two scenes,” then I’ll be less likely to screw around on, say, Facebook, until I’ve actually got those scenes done. And we all know that if I get on a roll like that, I’m likely to just keep on going, so the truth is I’d probably write as much as I possibly can if I do  manage to complete the goal. But I think the goal needs to be hard enough to complete that I won’t think, “Ah, I can get that done easily. Let’s just fuck around online a bit.”

Okay, so, that’s my current thought process on setting goals. Here’s hoping it helps! I would like to not always feel like I’m weighed down by all these characters who have things to tell me, books they want told, and like there’s no way I’ll ever fight my way to the top of the mountain. Sometimes it feels like I’m drowning in all the ideas.

4 thoughts on “Goal Setting in Novel Writing #amwriting #goals

  1. I’ve started setting goals for myself too. Depending on the length of the story, I set the deadline from a few weeks, to a month, or a couple of months. I am actually ahead of schedule on my current novel, and I don’t get distracted by new ideas now that I actually have set a deadline. Goals like these are great! ^_^

Leave a Reply

