It’s Annie’s birthday and her book is FREE right now on Kindle! Check it out!

The Grrrl of Limberlost Rain City Comedy of Manners Book 1 – Kindle edition by Annie Pearson. Mystery, Thriller & Suspense Kindle eBooks @

A murder in a Seattle coffee house. A murder on a decaying boat dock on Puget Sound. Samsara Byron, the security expert, insists this has nothing to do with her. She’s heroically fending off an attack on the world’s cyber infrastructure—if she could only get a cell signal. 

After escaping exurban life on Limberlost Island a decade earlier, Sam became a rockstar among anti-hacker security programmers: appearing at BlackHat conferences in vintage t-shirts and combat boots; investigating international security conspiracies with the FBI and NSA. 

Now Sam is dragged sideways by chaos back on Limberlost Island: her brother accidentally embroiled her flakey father with gun runners; the boy next door came home as prodigal son, hiding from Eastern European gangsters; a porn farmer thinks he’s in love. 

Meanwhile, the local weather guru promises that the large cold air mass headed for the Puget Sound Conversion Zone will dump record snow. Seattle is always paralyzed when it snows. 

The Grrrl of Limberlost follows three self-absorbed voices through the frenzy and terror in their daily lives, mired in family losses and betrayals, while weaponized malware threatens to ruin Christmas. The key mystery: which voice is the unreliable narrator? 

This light comedic suspense novel tries to include romance, but hardly anyone has time for it. It does contain inexplicit sex scenes and the sort of language you’d expect from gangsters, porn-farmers, and retro Riot Grrrls. 

Annie Pearson’s Rain City Comedy of Manners series explores misadventures in contemporary Seattle among people whose work drives their hearts’ desires, often in conflict with other love affairs. When bad things happen to quirky people, can they survive the wretched comedy of romance under grey skies? 

Rain City Comedy of Manners Series: 
#1 The Grrrl of Limberlost (Sam and Matt: cyber-thriller on Puget Sound) 
#2 Artemis in the Desert (Eliot and Sean: adventure on two wheels) 
#3 Nine Volt Heart (Jason and Susi: musical ride through Seattle’s backstreets) 

Each book can be read as a standalone story, with no cliffhangers. 
Later books do not reveal the stories of earlier books. 

Reviewers say: 

“Annie Pearson’s characters and story line in The Grrrl of Limberlost are contemporary to the mystery novel just as Dashiell Hammett’s Nick and Nora Charles were in his day. Pearson captures the ethos of people caught in the electric speed and electronic maneuvering of our times where a murder is just a click away and every double cross comes with a backup. Don’t miss this one—it’s your new world and it’s shifting under your feet as we speak.” 
— Don McQuinn, The Moondark Saga

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s